HomeForumLinksReviewsResourcesAboutContact

Decommissioning of Players

Player decommissioning reverses the registration process, purging the player of its Divx account settings and otherwise clearing its memory, returning it to the blank, ready-to-register status it had when it left the factory.

The automated process Divx employed to automatically expire the accounts on July 7, 2001 failed to properly decommission all players; apparently, the only units to have been fully purged and reset were those in which the owners had attempted to play a Divx disc, had gotten the "expired account" message, and who then manually followed the prompts that led to the machine communicating with the Divx central billing system to fully complete the decommissioning process.

As for manual decommissioning, unfortunately it appears that the procedures known to the public (detailed below in the following paragraphs) require communication with the Divx central billing system, which is no longer in operation. If your player is not already decommissioned, the chances are that it will never be, and that it will dial incessantly in a desperate and futile attempt to contact the now-non-existent central billing system. In this case, the only practical thing left to do is ensure that the player be kept disconnected from the phone line to avoid any potential line interference problems. The effects of long-term non-communication with the Divx central billing system are not known, but at this time there is little that can be done.

Please note - These instructions are provided as a public service - use at your own risk. The DOA assumes no responsibility for loss or damage from use of these procedures.

Zenith DVX2100

1.

Plug the player into an outlet for power and into a phone line for communications.

2.

The player should be in the standby mode (power to the box but not "on").

3.

Enter the following key sequence from the buttons on the front panel of the player: Stop-Stop-Reverse-Stop-Forward-Forward-Reverse The player will show the letters "dEc" (decommission) on the front panel.

4.

After several minutes the front panel display will turn off. Check that the player is decommissioned by turning it on and looking at the Divx Setup screen. It should ask you to register the player. If it isn't asking to be registered retry the decommissioning procedure.

RCA 5230Z and 5231Z

1.

Plug the player into an outlet for power and into a phone line for communications.

2.

Make sure there is no disc in the machine then power the machine on and then off

3.

While the machine is off press the following keys in the exact order while holding down the Power key at the same time. (Stop-Stop-Forward-Forward)

4.

The process takes a minute or so. The letters DEC should appear on the screen and your player is decommissioned.

5.

Check that the player is decommissioned by turning it on and looking at the Divx Setup screen. It should ask you to register the player. If it isn't asking to be registered retry the decommissioning procedure.